Staff login

Look what we've achieved!

Click on the bars to find out how much we have saved:

Average Annual
Business Savings
or
Annual Savings for
all Businesses

01

Greenhouse Gas Emissions Saved

This year, the California Green Business Program has saved 822,677 metric tons of CO2 with a total savings of $3,083,277. That's the equivalent of planting 43,583 acres of urban trees a year for ten years.

Find Green Businesses

Looking for efficient businesses that incorporate green practices and consciously conserve resources? Select from the criteria below to find specific Green businesses near you!

Apply to Be a Green Business

Grow with us! Green business is smart business. Find out how to incorporate green practices in to your own business and discover how to conserve resources and become more efficient.

Apply now to join the program!

Already have an account?

Work on a saved app, view your
status, or renew your application.

Login here
Forgot your password?

Start a Program

in Your City or Country

Are you thinking about starting a Green Business Program in your city or country? You should!

Explore here

Resources

Resource forum

Required, Select a City
Optional, Select Business Type
Optional, Type a keyword
Search
View your checklist

Frequently Asked Questions

1. Is there a fee for the Green Business Program?

2. How long does it take for a business to obtain Green Business certification?

3. What do I need to do to be a Green Business?

4. What is the process to become a Green Business?

5. What can I do to expedite my application?

6. Does my business have to be entirely green before I apply?

Green Tips

Promote your Green Business

December 17, 2014

Now that you’re a Certified Green Business, learn new ways to promote your business. Get the first free chapter of the New Rules of Green Marketing http://www.greenmarketing.com/files/NRoGM_ch1REVIEW-COPY-FOR-FREE-DOWNLOAD.pdf

Read more

Share this

Grants for Sustainable Projects

December 17, 2014

Find Grants, incentives and rebates for sustainable projects at your business. Use the funding wizard. http://www.coolcalifornia.org/funding-wizard-home

Read more

Share this

Solar Power News

December 17, 2014

Solar Power is Casting a Bigger Shadow, “This marked the fourth consecutive year of significant price reductions for residential and commercial systems in the U.S.,” Galen Barbose, one of the report’s authors, said in a statement. http://www.cbsnews.com/news/u-s-solar-power-industry-small-but-growing-rapidly/

Read more

Share this

PACE your next Green Project

December 17, 2014

Now that you’ve done some energy efficiency work at your business, are you thinking about solar energy? PACE your next big green project with Property Assessed Clean Energy. http://www.renewableenergyworld.com/rea/blog/post/2014/09/pace-financing-set-to-expand-commercial-solar-market

Read more

Share this

10 ways to green your work ethic

December 12, 2014

A greener workspace can mean a lighter ecological footprint, a healthier and more productive place to work, and good news for the bottom line. Whether you’re the boss, or the employee, whether your office is green already or still waiting to see the light, some practical steps can lay the groundwork for a healthy, low-impact […]

Read more

Share this

Subscribe to our blog!

Subscribe

About Us

The California Green Business Program leads the state and nation in working with small to medium sized businesses to grow a vibrant and healthy green economy. Led by a coalition of cities and counties, we contribute to more livable communities with healthier environments, while also conserving resources and saving money.

The program is funded by grass-roots contributions from local government and utility partners to make it accessible to small to medium sized businesses in California.

Contact Us

The California Green Business Program is a network of local programs operated by counties and cities throughout California. Businesses that apply receive personal attention from the public agencies and utilites that serve them.

The counties and cities that offer the Program are listed below. County programs are generally available to businesses located in all cities within that county.

Local Jurisdictions

If your city or county is interested
in joining CAGBN, click here.

Businesses

New programs are organizing. If your city or county is not listed, contact your local jurisdiction to find out whether a program in your community may be launching soon.

ALAMEDA COUNTY

Pamela Evans
pamela.evans@acgov.org
Bay Area Region

CONTRA COSTA COUNTY

Paris Greenlee
925-335-3213
paris.greenlee@hsd.cccounty.us
Bay Area Region

LOS ANGELES

George Payba
213-485-3698
george.payba@lacity.org
Steve Moch
mochs@email.laccd.edu
Adam Meltzer,
Cultural Facilities Certification
adam@artsearthpartnership.org

MANHATTAN BEACH

Lisa Ryder
310-874-2499
lisarydermoore@gmail.com
Manhattan Beach Region

MARIN COUNTY

Dana Armanino
415-499-3292
darmanino@marincounty.org
Bay Area Region

MONTEREY COUNTY

831-755-4579
recycle@co.monterey.ca.us
Monterey Region

NAPA COUNTY

Danielle Schmitz
707-259-5968
dschmitz@nctpa.net
Bay Area Region

SAN BENITO COUNTY

Mandy Rose, Director
831-636-4110
mandyr@iwm.co.san-benito.ca.us
Monterey Region

SAN FRANCISCO COUNTY

415-355-3778
greenbusiness@sfenvironment.org
San Francisco Region

SAN MATEO COUNTY

Sheila Peck,
Green Business Program Coordinator
Sheila.peck@envirocentives.com
Kim Springer,
Green Business Program Director
kspringer@smcgov.org
Bay Area Region

SANTA BARBARA

Frances Gilliland, Program Director
805-705-1686
coordinator@greenbizsbc.org
Santa Barbara Region

SANTA CLARA COUNTY

Lisa Rose
408-282-3166
lisa.rose@aem.sccgov.org
Bay Area Region

SANTA CRUZ (CITY)

Agnes Topp
831-420-5423
atopp@cityofsantacruz.com
Monterey Region

SANTA CRUZ COUNTY

Ana Maria Rebelo
831-477-3976
greenbusiness@co.santa-cruz.ca.us
Monterey Region

SANTA MONICA

Susy Borlido, Coordinator
310-458-8716 x2
smgbc@sustainableworks.org
Santa Monica Region

SANTA MONICA

Karl Bruskotter
310-458-2255
karl.bruskotter@smgov.net
Santa Monica Region

SOLANO COUNTY

Narcissa Untal
707-784-3172
nuntal@solanocounty.com
Bay Area Region

SONOMA COUNTY

Coordinator
707-565-6455
SonomaGreen@sonoma-county.org
Bay Area Region

THOUSAND OAKS (CITY)

Rod Cordova
805-449-2468
rcordova@toaks.org

CITY OF VENTURA

Courtney Lindberg
805-667-6502
clindberg@cityofventura.net
City of Ventura